Brahms and Tchaikovsky

Past Event22 Jun

Brahms and Tchaikovsky

No longer available

Great Hall, Auckland Town Hall

Classical music

GARETH FARR  He iwi tahi tātou (World Premiere)
BRAHMS  Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 77
TCHAIKOVSKY  Symphony No. 4 in F minor, Op. 36


Heralded by The Washington Post as “talent that’s off the scale”, American violinist Stefan Jackiw makes his NZSO debut with Brahms’ beloved Violin Concerto. Jackiw, who made the front page of The Times when he performed in Britain at age 14, is one of his generation’s most significant artists. Brahms’ sole concerto for violin, full of lyrical melodies and rich orchestration, has long been a favourite of virtuoso violinists and is the perfect work to introduce Jackiw to New Zealand audiences.

Gareth Farr, long-time collaborator with the NZSO, continues our Landfall commission series with his new composition that looks ahead to the 250th anniversary of the explorer James Cooks' arrival in New Zealand.

Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 4 is one of his most performed works, and written at the same time as his opera Eugene Onegin. It’s a thrilling symphony, from its opening brass statements through to its seductive Russian folk themes.

We welcome back conductor Miguel Harth-Bedoya following his successful concerts with the NZSO in 2016.


Visit for more information.

Ticket Pricing