Anthonie Tonnon wins 2022 Taite Music Prize for his album Leave Love Out Of This

Anthonie Tonnon

wins 2022 Taite Music Prize

for his album Leave Love Out Of This

Published: May 31 2022

Also honoured at the ceremony: trailblazer Karyn Hay, visionary producer Alan Jansson; dream-folk artist Jazmine Mary; Aotearoa music champion, Tony Stamp and industry changemaker Alison Mau.


Photo Credit: Dave Simpson


Tonight, the 2022 Taite Music Prize, which highlights outstanding New Zealand albums released in the previous calendar year, was awarded to Anthonie Tonnon for his critically praised album, Leave Love Out Of This released on Slow Time Records. Anthonie receives a $12500 cash prize thanks to founding partners Recorded Music NZ and the NZ Music Commission.


The Auckland Live Best Independent Debut went to Jazmine Mary for their debut album The Licking of a Tangerine. The album was recorded at Neil Finn’s Roundhead Studios with support from Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and Dave Kahn (Marlon Williams, Reb Fountain).  Their sound has been described as “dream-folk”; visceral and haunting with “rose-tinted sounds which will allow you to be transported somewhere bold and watery.” Jazmine is awarded a $2000 cash prize plus a performance or technical upskilling opportunity thanks to Auckland Live.



The Independent Spirit Award was granted to Karyn Hay ONZM for her contribution to music awareness in Aotearoa since the 1980’s through the groundbreaking TV series, Radio With Pictures and throughout her career via Kiwi FM and music documentaries. Karyn’s contribution continues as host of RNZ National’s Lately show with an eye on live events, an ear for music, a great sense of humour and a genuine interest in people and their stories.


The inaugural award NZ On Air Outstanding Music Journalism was presented to RNZ Music journalist, Tony Stamp for his work creating long-form music documentaries and features, interviewing artists, and discussing new music on Song Crush and currently hosting music review show The Sampler. Tony receives a $2500 cash prize, thanks to NZ On Air.


Alongside this award, a judge’s special commendation was acknowledged of Alison Mau’s work for Stuff covering NZ music industry practices and sexual harm prevention.


The Independent Music NZ Classic Record award was presented to producer Alan Jansson for the showcasing 1994 compilation, PROUD - An Urban-Pacific Streetsoul Compilation. Jansson worked with Tim Mahon (from Otara Music Arts Centre and Blam Blam Blam) and Phil Fuemana to bring in a range of artists representing the contemporary Māori and Pacifica music of the time. The result was the hugely influential 1994 compilation PROUD, featuring Sisters Underground, Pacifican Descendants, Semi MCs, MC Slam, Radio Backstab, DJ Payback, and Otara Millionaires Club.


Dylan Pellett, General Manager Independent Music New Zealand says, "This has been a special celebration this evening in so many ways, and I wish all of the winners my hearty congratulations. What a privilege to present this event on behalf of our membership and the wider music community. Top work everyone!"


The 2022 Taite Music Prize was held at Q Theatre in Tāmaki Makaurau and featured performances by 2021 Taite Music Prize winner, Reb Fountain.


The ceremony was hosted by NZ On Air's Sarah Thomson, with awards presented by Helaina Keeley - Creative Industries Development Manager - Auckland Live; Pippa Ryan-Kidd, Chairperson - IMNZ; Poppy Reid, Editor In Chief - Rolling Stone Magazine, Jo Oliver, CEO - Recorded Music NZ, author & journalist Colin Hogg and Aotearoa music legend, Sir Dave Dobbyn.


The event was attended by 300+ industry, media, and artists from across the country and was a joyous celebration of outstanding creative works made in Aotearoa.


The Taite Music Prize panel tasked with determining the finalists was made up of an extensive selection of music media/industry specialists. The finalist judges made their decision based entirely on the artistic merit of the album. Sales, genres, artist recognition or popularity are not contributing factors in their decision-making process.


2022 Taite Music Prize Judges:


Annabel Kean - Sports Team,

Damon Newton - Auckland Live

Harrison Pali - Tahi

Jasmin Ziedan - BaseFM

Jess Fu - 95bFM

Karl Lock - JB Hi Fi

Lisa Jones -

Mathew Crawley - Flying Out

Nadia Marsh - Te Māngai Pāho

Sandra Hopping - Marbecks / Ode Records




2022 Taite Music Prize winner; Anthonie Tonnon



2022 Auckland Live Best Independent Debut winner; Jazmine Mary


2022 Independent Spirit Award presented to Karyn Hay


NZ On Air Outstanding Music Journalism Award to Tony Stamp


Independent Music NZ Classic Record award presented for Proud - An Urban-Pacific Streetsoul Compilation


Editors Notes:

The eponym for the awards is the late Dylan Taite, one of New Zealand’s most respected TV music journalists. He became known for his Liverpudlian wry wit and his unabashed chutzpah-love of music. Dylan’s unique style captured some rare interviews over the decades. Interviews with The Sex Pistols, Deep Purple, and the career-defining Bob Marley are still referenced today.

The Taite Music Prize

Presented by: Independent Music New Zealand (IMNZ)

Founding Partner: Recorded Music NZ

Official Partner: NZ On Air

Event Partner: Q Theatre

Award Partner: Auckland Live

Media Partners: 95bFM / Radio NZ

Charity Partner: MusicHelps

Supporting Partners: APRA AMCOS / Media Arts Lawyers / NZ Music Commission / McCarthy Design / Commotion Ltd / Loop / College Hill Productions / Tone Deaf Productions / Oceania / Merlin / Panhead Breweries / Auckland City Of Music

Previous winners of The Taite Music Prize:

2010 - Lawrence Arabia - Chant Darling (Honorary Bedouin Records)
2011 - Ladi6 - The Liberation Of (What? Music)
2012 - Unknown Mortal Orchestra – Unknown Mortal Orchestra (Seeing Records)
2013 – SJD - Elastic Wasteland (Round Trip Mars)
2014 – Lorde - Pure Heroine (Universal Music NZ)
2015 – Jakob – Sines (Shoot The Freak)
2016 – Silicon - Personal Computer (Weird World/Domino Recordings)
2017 - Street Chant - Hauora (Arch Hill Recordings)
2018 - Aldous Harding - Party (Flying Nun Records / 4AD)
2019 - Avantdale Bowling Club  - Avantdale Bowling Club (Years Gone By)
2020 – Troy Kingi – Holy Colony Burning Acres (Triple A Records)
2021 - Reb Fountain - Reb Fountain (Flying Nun Records)

Previous Winners of the  Independent Music NZ Classic Record:

2013 – Gordons – Gordons (Flying Nun)
2014 – Various Artists – AK79 (Ripper Records)
2015 – Herbs – What’s Be Happen? (Warrior Records)
2016 – Upper Hutt Posse – E Tū (Jayrem Records)
2017 - The Clean - Boodle Boodle Boodle (Flying Nun)
2018 - Headless Chickens - Stunt Clown (Flying Nun)
2019 - Moana and the Moahunters - Tahi (Southside)
2020 – Shona Laing – South (Pagan Records)
2021 - Patea Māori Club - 'Poi E' (Maui Records)
Previous Winners of the Auckland Live Best Independent Debut:

2017 - Merk - Swordfish  (self released)
2018 - The Miltones - The Miltones (Self-released)
2019 - Alien Weaponry - Tū (Self-released)
2020 – Repulsive Woman – Relief (Independent) 
2021 - Na Noise - Waiting For You (1:12 Records)

Previous Recipients of the Independent Spirit Award 

2019 -  Bernie Griffin
2020 - Murray Cammick
2021 - Pete Rainey and Glenn Common of Smokefree Rockquest

NZ On Air Outstanding Music Journalism Award 

2022 - Inaugural Year

Related Pages

Be the first to know about live events in Auckland!