Published: 27 Apr 2022

Independent Music NZ announces the Taite Music Prize award presentation ceremony moves to Sunday, May 29 to close out NZ Music Month on a high with an in-person award ceremony.  The stars aligned last minute to make it possible for artists, and those that help them to be able to meet in person and celebrate. 

The eponym for the awards is the late Dylan Taite, one of New Zealand’s most respected TV music journalists whose unique style captured some rare interviews over the decades including the Sex Pistols, Deep Purple, and the career-defining Bob Marley which are still referenced today.

Dylan’s son, John Taite comments, “They say time waits for no one. No one except Dylan Taite that is, who had a superhuman knack for stretching deadlines. Dad’s unmissable masterpieces were often hours, days and weeks late. It was more important to him to get things right for his audience. Because like every great artist he interviewed, Dylan knew that timing is everything - even when you’re late.

The opportunity for the in-person event, albeit a reduced number, has been welcomed by many of the finalists with responses of “Great News!” and “Oh lovely!” flooding in . 

The ceremony will once again take place at Tāmaki Makaurau’s Q Theatre and will be live blogged across multiple platforms for fans and music lovers around the motu to follow the events of the evening. The pared back event will include a whole lot of much-needed in person camaraderie for a sector of the arts that has had a prolific output during some of its toughest times.

The ten albums in contention for the 2022 Taite Music Prize are:
Listen on Spotify HERE

Anthonie Tonnon - Leave Love Out Of This (Slow TIme Records)
Dianne Swann - The War On Peace of Mind (Bads Music)
French For Rabbits - The Overflow (AAA Records)
Lips - I Don't Know Why I Do Anything (Independent)
Luke Buda - BUDA (Buda Records)
Reb Fountain - IRIS (Flying Nun Records)
Sheep, Dog & Wolf - Two-Minds (Aphrodite)
Team Dynamite - Respect The Process (Independent)
Troy Kingi - Black Sea Golden Ladder (AAA Records)
Vera Ellen - It's Your Birthday (Flying Nun Records)

The Auckland Live Best Independent Debut Award celebrates the freshest talent of Aotearoa and the three finalists are: 
Listen on Spotify HERE

Adelaide Cara - How Does This Sound?
Jazmine Mary - The Licking of a Tangerine
Proteins of Magic - Proteins of Magic

The NZ On Air Outstanding Music Journalism Award is the first of its kind for Aotearoa New Zealand and the finalists are:

Undertheradar.co.nz – Editorial Team; Chris Cudby and Annabel Kean
Rova’s 'Aotearoa Hip Hop: The Music, The People, The History' - Podcast creators; DJ Sirvere and Martyn Pepperell
RNZ Music’s The Sampler - Producer and journalist; Tony Stamp
95bFM’s Long Player “Milk III - Reuben Winter” episode - Producer; Jess Fu 

The 2022 recipient of the Classic Record has already been announced to recognise the 1994 New Zealand album; PROUD - An Urban-Pacific Streetsoul Compilation.  Listen on Apple Music HERE or on Spotify HERE

Also to be announced at the ceremony is the recipient of the 2022 Independent Spirit Award. This recognises and celebrates a New Zealander who is passionate about NZ music and has dedicated themselves to helping artists and the wider music community to grow and find their own unique pathways. 

Related News

Be the first to know about live events in Auckland!