Past Event3 May 2020

Letters from Iraq

No longer available

Concert Chamber, Auckland Town Hall

Classical music

In light of the situation with COVID-19, Chamber Music New Zealand is deeply disappointed to let you know that their concerts scheduled for April, May and June have been cancelled.

Vesa & Friends at the Concert Chamber – 5th April 2020

Rahim Alhaj with NZSQ at the Concert Chamber – 3rd May 2020

Calefax at the Concert Chamber– 21st June 2020

We are very sorry for the inconvenience and we appreciate your understanding and patience during this difficult and challenging time.

Further information and updates can be found here:

Ticket holders shall receive a full refund from the point of purchase.  If customers have any queries regarding their booking, please contact Ticketmaster


Love and loss. Home and hope. Iraqi-American composer and oud player, Rahim AlHaj and percussionist Nicholas Baker joins NZSQ and double bassist, Joan Perarnau Garriga, with Letters from Iraq.

AlHaj’s musical response expressing the love and pain of lives lived by the people of war-torn Iraq. Actual mailed letters and their stories are transposed into eight gripping programmatic compositions.

AlHaj, a man with first-hand knowledge of oppression under Saddam Hussein’s regime and a deep love for the people of his native Iraq, tells a specific tale with each piece. To listen is to experience the reality of a nation, to feel heartbreak, loss, and the day-to-day journeys of so many Iraqi citizens. An inspired and loving tribute to people in dire conditions, but who still press forward.

He says, “Music can make us laugh, make us cry, make us march into war. I want to make music to make us realize peace.” These works are of deep emotion and great beauty, melding mastery of Iraqi and Western classical genres alike to form something entirely new.

BARBER | String Quartet in B minor, Op. 11

Rahim Alhaj Oud
Helene Pohl Violin
Gillian Ansel Viola
Monique Lapin Violin
Rolf Gjelsten Cello
Joan Perarnau Garriga Double Bass
Nicholas Baker Percussion 

Chamber Music New Zealand 2020

Be the first to know about live events in Auckland!