The much-loved NZ pianist Michael Houstoun delayed his retirement in 2020 but he will be, in his words, ‘folding up the tent’ in December 2021. It’s bittersweet news, but there could be no more fitting way for Giordano Bellincampi and the APO to farewell him than with Rachmaninov’s Third Concerto — a mighty concerto for a mighty musician.

Maria Grenfell’s tone poem recounts the Māori legend about a chief, his pet whale, and a duplicitous priest. Vaughan Williams’ serene Fifth Symphony was first heard during the Blitz. Though the audience was small in number, the music was spiritual refreshment at a time of strife.

Ticket Pricing

Pricing Information

Ticketmaster is the official ticketing agent for all ticketed events at Auckland Live.

For all ticketed events in Auckland Live venues – the ticket price plus service fees and credit card charges will apply.

$52 - $131
65+ years.
$47 - $120
Children aged 5-16 or with a valid Student ID.
$27 - $59

Upcoming Performances

$27.00 - $131.00
Great Hall, Auckland Town Hall | On Sale 21 Jan