Past Event20 May - 28 May 2021

Lunchtime screenings at Aotea Square

No longer available

Auckland Live Digital Stage, Aotea Square


Celebrate NZ Music Month during your Thursday and Friday lunchtimes and (re)discover some of the most talented musicians of Aotearoa, present and past, through a screen programme including music videos and short documentaries.

Watch Drax Project, Hollie Smith, Katchafire and other star NZ musicians sharing their connections to te reo Māori in the Notable Pictures' Waiata / Anthems series on 20 and 21 May.

On 27 and 28 May, discover the newly released series The Collective, documenting the journey of young performers preparing a major gig at the Tuning Fork.

These stories are wrapped by a selection of music videos from Ngā Taonga Sound & Vision, the 2020 APRA Silver Scroll Awards ceremony, Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra and Merge NZ.


Waiata / Anthems by Notable Pictures

Notable Pictures, in association with TVNZ, Raukatauri Productions, and Te Māngai Pāho present  Waiata / Anthems in which iconic music artists from around Aotearoa translate and record their songs in te reo Māori and share untold stories of fear and discovery along the way. Following on from the 2019 number-one album, Waiata / Anthems, these new stories celebrate te reo Māori through the power of waiata.

Featuring Drax Project, Katchafire’s Logan Bell, Bic Runga, Che Fu, MELODOWNZ, Annie Crummer, Hollie Smith, and Don McGlashan. Each episode tracks the artist’s path through the origin of their song to its translation and meaning, exploring how it came to be, and ending with a powerful live performance.

Waiata / Anthems is produced by champion of Māori music, Hinewehi Mohi, MNZM. In 1999, Hinewehi changed the nature of our relationship with the New Zealand national anthem when she performed it in te reo Māori at an All Blacks’game. Today, Hinewehi continues to lead the charge for a bilingual music industry supporting artists to embrace te reo Māori in their work.

Waiata / Anthems streaming now on TVNZ OnDemand. Accompanied by live performance music videos on TVNZ’s YouTube.

  • EPISODE 1 | HOLLIE SMITH / DON McGLASHAN - Bathe in the River / Kōrukutia
  • EPISODE 2 | KATCHAFIRE – 100 / Karawhiua
  • EPISODE 3 | DRAX PROJECT - Tukituki Te Manawa
  • EPISODE 4 | BIC RUNGA - There is No Time / Kāore He Wā
  • EPISODE 5 | MELODOWNZ – Fine / Pai
  • EPISODE 6 | CHE FU – Fade Away / E Kore E Motu
  • EPISODE 7 | ANNIE CRUMMER – Ocean Moon / Hina Ki Tai

The Collective

The Collective is an eight-part video series following a group of six young musicians as they work towards the biggest performance of their lives.

It’s a powerful journey of self-discovery guided by Crescendo Studio - a commercial recording facility in West Auckland that runs free and funded youth music production and radio programmes. Overseen by Blindspott’s Marcus Powell and Nesian Mystic’s David Atai, Crescendo helps rangatahi build a future in music.

The six up-and-coming artists are Mahima aka EMCEA, Iris aka Iris G, Mataio aka Ace Swamii, Amelia aka Lesboss, Trey & Jay aka 2Trae & Yhung Jae.

The series features appearances from award-winning and internationally renowned artists, including MC Tali, Melodownz, Laughton Kora, Emma Dilemma and No Comply.

The Collective is made by an award-winning international production team, including Rachale Davies (producer), Alexis Smith (director) and Hunter Crouchley (director of photography).

Made with the support of NZ On Air.

Available online.

Te Huringa Rongotuarua - The Playback Loop by Ngā Taonga Sound & Vision

In just a few minutes, a video can tell a story, introduce a band, do something new and creative, and provide a memorable accompaniment to a song. Music videos and films have long been an important part of audiovisual culture, with the images becoming crucial to the promotion and success of many hit songs.

From the collections of Nga Taonga Sound & Vision:

  • Ray Columbus and the Invaders, ‘Till We Kissed' 1965, 3 minutes.

Written by C Weill and B Man. Courtesy of Stebbing Recording Centre Ltd / Zodiac Records and


  • Golden Harvest, ‘I Need Your Love’ 1977, 4 minutes.

Written by G Kaukau. Courtesy of Stebbing Recording Centre Ltd and TVNZ.

  • Look Blue Go Purple, ‘Cactus Cat’ 1986, 4 minutes.

Written by D Roughan, F Griffin, N O’Malley, K Webster, L Paris. Published by Songbroker Music

Publishing. Directed by Pat O’Neill. Courtesy of Flying Nun Records.

  • Ardijah, ‘Time Makes the Wine’ 1987, 4 minutes.

Written by R Monga. Published by Poly Funk Records. Directed by Paul Middleditch. Courtesy of Poly

Fonk Productions Ltd. / Ardijah

  • Fat Freddy’s Drop, ‘Wandering Eye’ 2005, 5 minutes.

Written by W Maxwell, D Tamaira, C Faiumu, T Laing, T Kerr, I Gordon. Directed by Mark Williams.

Courtesy of Fat Freddy’s Drop.

  • Disasteradio, ‘Awesome Feelings’ 2008, 3 minutes.

Written by L Rowell. Directed by Simon Ward. Courtesy of Luke Rowell and Simon Ward.

For more, check out the Playback – Rongotuaruatanga exhibition online at

2020 APRA Silver Scroll Awards

The APRA Silver Scroll Awards celebrate New Zealand’s songwriters and composers. Each year, a selection of esteemed NZ artists perform their interpretations of each of the nominated songs.

  • Horomona Horo, Ariaa Tikao, Warren Warbrick, and Hinewehi Mohi
  • Mousey performs ‘In The Air’  by L.A.B.
  • Tiki Taane, Sam Trevethick and Nick Robinson (Shapeshifter), Darren Mathiassen (Hollie Smith, Shapeshifter, Kora) performi ‘M`atauranga (Rerenga)’ by Michael Norris
  • Delaney Davidson and The All-Girl Big Band perfom ‘Glitter’ by Benee
  • Anika Moa, Anna Coddington, Hollie Smith, Julia Deans, Lauren Barus, and Tali Sheppard, aka The Wha Cups, perform ’Calling On’ by Weta
  • Disciple Pati performs ‘Don’t You Know Who I Am’ by Reb Fountain
  • Neil MacLeod performs  ‘Get The Devil Out’ by Nadia Reid
  • Tomorrow People performi ‘Kā Manu’ by Rob Ruha
  • Alien Weaponry perform ‘Mighty Invader’ by Troy Kingi
  • ‘Slipping Away’ by Max Merritt recorded throughout Aotearoa

Anika Moa’s 'Songs for Bubbas' - NZ Sign Language interpreted by Merge NZ

  • 'Nga Ra O Te Wiki' by Anika Moa, interpreted by Deaf signer Marianne Spence
  • 'Animals in My Room' by Anika Moa, interpreted by Deaf signer Grace Covey
  • 'If I Had a Little Girl' by Anika Moa, interpreted by Deaf signer Grace Covey
  • 'Nana's Farm' by Anika Moa, interpreted by Deaf signer Grace Covey

Auckland Philarmonia Orchestra performs ‘For a Little Moment’ by Leonie Holmes.

Leonie Holmes is a well-known, Auckland-based composer who writes for orchestra, chamber, choral, vocal, and solo instruments. Recent works have been commissioned and/or performed by the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra, Auckland Philharmonia, The BBC Singers, Ensemble Paladino, Aventa Ensemble Canada, Zephyr Wind Quintet, and the NZTrio. A considerable amount of her orchestral and chamber music has been released on CD. Leonie is currently a Senior Lecturer in Composition and Music Studies at the School of Music, University of Auckland.

For a Little Moment is a short work that takes its inspiration from Tessa Stephens’ poem Cycles, e.g: 

And life is tasted on the tongue

For just a little moment

Then, time’s toll must be paid

Matter melts, dries to dust

Shimmers into nothing

Yet something.

Hint of a new dawn.

What's on during NZ Music Month

What's on during NZ Music Month

Be the first to know about live events in Auckland!