Music in the Square

5 Dec - 9 Feb

Music in the Square

Free

Aotea Square

Music

It wouldn’t be Auckland Live Summer in the Square without a sensational music line-up, and this summer is no exception. Music-man extraordinaire, Matthew Crawley has gone and blown us all out of the water with an eclectic range of musical acts to enjoy in Aotea Square, ranging from electro-pop from Glasgow, raucous sing-a-longs, a special 95bFM Kids live broadcast, live disco, and so much more! 

And of course, we’re bringing back a whole week dedicated to a wide range of folk music courtesy of folk aficionado and curator, Finn McLenann-Elliott. Musical favourites will include Fables, Ethno NZ, Gitbox Rebellion, and Donna Dean, to name just a few.  

If you’re a music nerd like us, or you simply love a cool beverage in the sun while the sweet sounds of live music sizzle in the background, make sure you come on down to the square and make the most of our free music programme. It’s going to be a scorcher!

 

https://rfacdn.nz/live/assets/media/unesco-logo-120px.jpg

 

 

Full Programme

December line up

Auckland Street Choir
Thu 5 Dec, 4pm – 5pm
CHOIR

DJ Mealy Worm
Thu 5 Dec, 5pm – 7pm
ELECTRONIC

Apostille (Glasgow)
Fri 6 Dec, 5pm – 6pm
ELECTRONIC

Stef Animal
Fri 6 Dec, 6pm – 7pm
ELECTRONIC

DJ Zac Arnold (Sunreturn Records)
Sat 7 Dec, 4pm – 6pm
ALTERNATIVE 

Lucky Boy
Sat 7 Dec, 6pm – 7pm
INDIE

Staniels
Sat 7 Dec, 7pm – 8pm
ELECTRONIC | ALTERNATIVE

95bFM Kids Show Live
Sun 8 Dec, 7am – 9am
KIDS

DJ Mr Crawley
Sun 8 Dec, 12pm – 2pm
SOUL | FUNK

Ruckus
Sun 8 Dec, 2pm – 4pm
JAZZ 

All Together Now! Singing Club
Thu 12 Dec, 5pm – 7pm
SING-A-LONG

Tibor
Fri 13 Dec, 5pm – 6pm
FUNK / ALTERNATIVE

Audrey’s Dance
Fri 13 Dec, 6pm – 7pm
SYNTH POP

DJs Miss Dom + Vintage Vamp
Sat 14 Dec, 4pm – 6pm
DJ | 1960s | SOUL | FUNK

Mema Wilda
Sat 14 Dec, 6pm – 7pm
PSYCHEDELIC FOLK

Levi Lights on Project
Sat 14 Dec, 7pm – 8pm 
POP | ROCK | FOLK

Girls Rock Camp Showcase
Sun 15 Dec, 12pm – 4pm
INDIE | ALTERNATIVE | ROCK

Northern Ranges Philharmonic Society
Thu 19 Dec, 5pm – 6pm
EXPERIMENTAL | ELECTRONIC 

Cave Circles plays DJ Oboe with guests
Thu 19 Dec, 6pm – 7pm
EXPERIMENTAL | ELECTRONIC

January line up

Shindig
Thu 9 Jan, 5pm – 7pm
FOLK | BLUES | COUNTRY

Kendall Elise
Fri 10 Jan, 5pm – 7pm
COUNTRY | BLUES

Silent Disco with Papaya Stories
Sat 11 Jan, 4pm – 8pm
DISCO

DJ Julien Dyne
Sun 12 Jan, 12pm – 4pm
FUNK | ELECTRONIC 

FOLK WEEKEND

Bernie Griffen & Kirsten Warner
Thu 16 Jan, 5pm – 6pm
FOLK

Ethno New Zealand
Thu 16 Jan, 6pm – 7pm
FOLK

Dave Khan
Fri 17 Jan, 5pm – 6pm
FOLK

Fables
Fri 17 Jan, 6pm – 7pm
FOLK

Mark Laurent
Sat 18 Jan, 4pm – 5pm
FOLK

Great North
Sat 18 Jan, 5pm – 6pm
FOLK

Paper Cranes
Sat 18 Jan, 6pm – 7pm
FOLK

Gitbox Rebellion 
Sat 18 Jan, 7pm – 8pm
FOLK

Sophie Gibson
Sun 19 Jan, 12pm – 1pm
FOLK

Albi
Sun 19 Jan, 1pm – 2pm
FOLK

Rough Town
Sun 19 Jan, 2pm – 3pm
FOLK

Donna Dean
Sun 19 Jan, 3pm – 4pm
FOLK

FOLK WEEKEND ENDS

Oksun Ox
Thu 23 Jan, 5pm – 6pm
EXPERIMENTAL

Pumice
Thu 23 Jan, 6pm – 7pm
EXPERIMENTAL

DJ Linda T
Sun 26 Jan, 12pm – 4pm
CONTEMPROARY | FUNK | JAZZ

Dianne Swann
Thu 30 Jan, 5pm – 6pm
ALTERNATIVE

Dictaphone Blues (solo)
Thu 30 Jan, 6pm – 7pm
INDIE

Matthew Bannister + The Changing Same play "Rubber Solo"
Fri 31 Jan, 5pm – 7pm
INDIE

February line up

Love Square
Sat 1 Feb, 4pm – 8pm
FUNK

Special guest with DJ Samuel Harmony
Sun 2 Feb, 12pm – 4pm
DUB

NOA Records presents: Pacific Mystery
Thu 6 Feb 12pm – 4pm
JAZZ/INDIE

Eternal Acoustic Meatus Festival sampler with Monicker (Canada) and surprise guests
Fri 7 Feb, 5pm – 7pm
EXPERIMENTAL

Brendan + Alison Turner
Sun 9 Feb, 12pm – 4pm
COUNTRY | FOLK

Ticket Pricing

This is a free, non-ticketed event.

Upcoming Performances

Free
Aotea Square | For full timings and info, please refer to the About the Event tab