Past Event27 Nov 2021


No longer available

Great Hall, Auckland Town Hall

Classical music

NZSO: Solemnis on Saturday 27 November 2021 has been cancelled.

A message from the presenter:

Due to the many components involved in staging Missa Solemnis, we are unable to perform the work under current Alert Level 2 conditions (Wellington)/Alert Level 3 conditions.

Unfortunately this means that Solemnis, due to take place on November 27th have been cancelled.

NZSO apologize for any disappointment this has caused, and we look forward to seeing our Auckland patrons in 2022.

All tickets will be refunded automatically, there is nothing to do on your part.  Please allow 10 – 14 working days for your refund to be processed. If your tickets were purchased from a Ticketmaster outlet, you will need to contact the Customer Service Team at Ticketmaster here and follow the instructions. 


Vasily Petrenko Conductor
Madeleine Pierard Soprano
Kristin Darragh Mezzo-soprano
Simon O'Neill Tenor 
Paul Whelan Bass-Baritone 
Voices New Zealand Choir

Beethoven Missa Solemnis

The NZSO’s 2021 season closes with a return and a resurrection. Russian conductor Vasily Petrenko last visited us in 2015 and was set to return in 2020. After a six-year absence, we are thrilled to welcome him back to New Zealand to conduct Beethoven’s Missa Solemnis.

Featuring an all-star cast of resident and returning Kiwi singers:  soprano Madeleine Pierard, mezzo-soprano Kristin Darragh, tenor Simon O’Neill, and bass-baritone Paul Whelan. The NZSO will also be joined by New Zealand’s premier choir Voices New Zealand to present this solemn mass.

When Beethoven prepared a score of the Missa Solemnis to give to its dedicatee, he famously wrote on the front page: “From the heart—may it return to the heart!” Likewise, the NZSO’s performance of the Missa Solemnis, and its epic beauty, are sure to strike a chord in the hearts of audiences and music-lovers everywhere.

Accessibility: If you are attending a show or event in our venues and have an access need, find more information about accessibility here. You can also take a virtual accessibility tour of the venue.  

NZSO 2021:

Be the first to know about live events in Auckland!