Past Event31 Mar 2019

Aorangi Symphony Orchestra

No longer available

Great Hall, Auckland Town Hall

Classical music

The fourth and final in our series of World War One commemoration concerts, and third event in the Auckland Town Hall, the Aorangi Symphony Orchestra returns to honour the signing of the Treaty of Versailles, 1919 – marking the end of four years of the horror, bloodshed and suffering of the Great War.

With the exquisitely beautiful Adagio for Strings by Samuel Barber as the opening piece, the main feature of this programme is Giuseppe Verdi’s powerful and moving Requiem. Together with international New Zealand-born soloists Anna Leese (soprano), Kristin Darragh (mezzo-soprano), Amitai Pati (tenor) and Wade Kernot (bass), the Aorangi Singers and accompanying orchestra bring the drama, passion, protest and final peace of this great work.

Under the baton of the inspirational and award-winning conductor Sarah Bisley Schneider, recently returned from conducting La Traviata in Bulgaria, to acclaim, this promises to be a night to remember.

In keeping with the theme 'In Search of Peace', this concert has been dedicated to the victims of the attacks in Christchurch of 15 March 2019.



Be the first to know about live events in Auckland!