Ehnes Plays Bruch

Past Event30 May

Ehnes Plays Bruch

No longer available

Auckland Town Hall

Classical music

Conductor Giordano Bellincampi
Violin James Ehnes

Strauss Metamorphosen
Bruch Violin Concerto No.1
R. Schumann
Symphony No.3 ‘Rhenish’


The superstar violinist James Ehnes is absolutely not to be missed. His APO return with Bruch’s evergreen concerto- its dramatic opening and spirited finale- will be a highlight of the season.

Schumann’s ‘Rhenish’ Symphony was inspired by the countryside of the River Rhine and by Cologne Cathedral. It was a particularly happy time in Schumann’s life, and this shines through in buoyant, ebullient music.

In contrast, Strauss’s indescribably moving tone-poem for 23 solo strings is a lament for the destruction of civilised Germany during the Second World War.


Ticket Pricing

Pricing Information

Ticketmaster is the official ticketing agent for all ticketed events at Auckland Live.

For all ticketed events in Auckland Live venues – the ticket price plus service fees and credit card charges will apply.

$52 - $131
Senior (65+)
$47 - $120
Student (5 - 16) or with Valid ID
$27 - $59

Did you know?

You only need to buy four tickets to become an APO subscriber. Just take your pick of any 2019 APO concerts and you’ll save 10% off public ticket prices and no booking fees.