Past Event5 Nov 2020

Fairytale Romance

No longer available

Auckland Town Hall

Classical music

Conductor Giordano Bellincampi 
Violin Benjamin Beilman 

Mozart Symphony No.25
Mendelssohn A Midsummer Night’s Dream: Suite
Brahms Serenade No.1

NOTE: Change of repertoire – Brahms’ Serenade No.1 replaces Brahms’ Violin Concerto with soloist Benjamin Beilman who is unable to travel to New Zealand at this time.

At once monumental and intimate, Brahms’ concerto needs a violinist of Olympian stamina who can also play what’s essentially chamber music with the orchestra, and Benjamin Beilman is such a musician.

Mendelssohn adored Shakespeare, and wrote an overture to A Midsummer Night’s Dream when he was, amazingly, just 17. Years later he added some incidental music, which distils the essence of this most featherweight of comedies. 

Between these two, perhaps Mozart’s most tempestuous symphony, memorably used in the opening of Amadeus.

To subscribe to the APO 2020 Season, please visit


Be the first to know about live events in Auckland!