Conductor Clemens Schuldt 
Oboe Bede Hanley 

Debussy Prélude à L’Après-midi d’une faune 
Gary Kulesha Oboe Concerto (world premiere) 
Prokofiev Symphony No.7 


In another example of the APO’s growing international reputation, the Canadian composer Gary Kulesha has written a new concerto for our principal oboe, Bede Hanley. 

Debussy’s little masterpiece is the languid, ecstatic music of a hot summer afternoon lying in the grass. It’s also quietly revolutionary. Modern music began here. 

Prokofiev’s last symphony is direct and tuneful, in the best Russian tradition, but there’s more to it than that. It was written by a sick man, in dark straits, and below the nostalgic surface is a yearning for his lost happiness.


To subscribe to the APO 2020 Season, please visit


Ticket Pricing

Pricing Information

Ticketmaster is the official ticketing agent for all ticketed events at Auckland Live.

For all ticketed events in Auckland Live venues – the ticket price plus service fees and credit card charges will apply.

$52 - $131
Senior (65+)
$47 - $120
Student (5 - 16) or with Valid ID
$27 - $59

Did you know?

You only need to buy four tickets to become an APO subscriber. Just take your pick of any 2020 APO concerts and you’ll save 10% off public ticket prices and no booking fees.

Upcoming Performances

$27.00 - $131.00
Great Hall, Auckland Town Hall