Past Event14 May 2019

Ockham New Zealand Book Awards 2019

No longer available

ASB Theatre, Aotea Centre

Special Events

The country’s premier literary awards return as one of the early signature events of the Festival’s week-long programme. 

Sixteen finalists, representing the best of New Zealand writing in 2018, as well as the four Best First Book Award winners (in fiction, nonfiction, illustrated nonfiction, and poetry), showcase their attention-grabbing work in readings, before the grand winners are announced. MC-ed by Stacey Morrison.

Note: This session can be included in concession pass selections.

Acorn Foundation Fiction Prize: Kate Duignan; Lloyd Jones; Fiona Kidman; Vincent O’Sullivan.
Mary & Peter Biggs Award for Poetry: Helen Heath; Erik Kennedy; Therese Lloyd; Tayi Tibble.
Royal Society Te Aparāngi Award for General Non-Fiction: Joanne Drayton; Maurice Gee; Chessie Henry; Anna Rogers.
Illustrated Non-Fiction Award: Paul Bensemann; Bronwyn Holloway-Smith (editor); Sean Mallon; Geoff Norman.

Upcoming highlights at the Auckland Writers Festival:

Be the first to know about live events in Auckland!