Past Event16 May 2021

A Worship of [Honoured] Writers

No longer available

Kiri Te Kanawa Theatre, Aotea Centre

Talks & ideas

As borders closed in 2020, celebrating all that is wonderful in our own land rose boldly to the fore, not just with respect to where we might travel, or for the products we might buy, but for the much-cherished artists and artistry of this place. For nine years, the Festival has concluded its six-day festival by doing just that, bringing to the stage one of our literary heroes each year to reflect on their career and to honour their contribution to the landscape.

In 2021 we up the ante, with seven of our nine honorees – on stage together for a triumphant hour of writerly chat to close our 2021 event. An extraordinary line-up, not to be missed. Chaired by Michele A’Court.

All welcome; entry by koha, no ticket required.


Writer Bios

Patricia Grace

Patricia Grace DCNZM, QSO (Ngāti Toa, Ngāti Raukawa, Te Āti Awa) is a multi-award winning novelist, short story writer and children’s author. She is the recipient of an Arts Foundation Icon Award and a Prime Minister’s Literary Award. Her memoir is From the Centre: A Writer’s Life.

Witi Ihimaera

Witi Ihimaera is the author of award-winning fiction, short stories, scripts, essays, memoirs and libretto including The Whale Rider and The Matriarch. His latest book is Navigating the Stars: Māori Creation Myths and he collaborated on the play Witi’s Wa-hine, celebrating the wāhine of his stories.

Fiona Kidman

Dame Fiona Kidman has published over 30 books including novels, short stories, poetry and non-fiction. Her novel This Mortal Boy won a 2019 Ockham NZ Book Award and her latest short story collection All the Way to Summer won the NZSA Heritage Book Award for Fiction.

Vincent O’Sullivan

Katherine Mansfield scholar and former Poet Laureate, Vincent O’Sullivan is an award-winning poet, short story writer, novelist, biographer, librettist and playwright. His book Ralph Hotere: The Dark is Light Enough is shortlisted for the Ockham New Zealand Book Awards. Supported by Heartland Bank.

CK Stead

CK Stead is an award-winning poet, novelist, essayist, literary critic and Emeritus Professor of English at The University of Auckland. The second volume of his three-part memoir is You Have a Lot to Lose: A Memoir 1956-1986, longlisted for the Ockham New Zealand Book Awards.

Brian Turner

Award-winning writer Brian Turner ONZM won the Commonwealth Poetry Prize in 1978 for his first book of poems Ladders of Rain and has published widely including journalism, biography and sports writing. He has served as Poet Laureate and received the Prime Minister’s Award for Poetry in 2009.

Albert Wendt 

Award-winning novelist, poet, short story writer, playwright and painter Maualaivao Albert Wendt ONZ CNZM is Emeritus Professor of English at The University of Auckland. He is the recipient of numerous awards including a Prime Minister’s Literary Award and an Arts Foundation Icon Award.

Auckland Writers Festival 2021

Be the first to know about live events in Auckland!