Kodály takes a nostalgic trip to his boyhood in the Slovakian town of Galánta. Based on traditional Hungarian tunes, this sparkling piece lovingly evokes the village bands of Kodály’s earliest memories.

Hints of reminiscence, too, in Shostakovich’s Second Violin Concerto. Shostakovich wrote it for his friend, the great David Oistrakh, and alluded to traditional music from Oistrakh’s childhood in Odessa. Natalia Lomeiko returns to New Zealand and the APO to perform this intense work.

Continuing his survey of Nielsen’s music, Giordano Bellincampi reaches the Fourth Symphony. It’s best described by its composer: One word to indicate what music alone is capable of expressing to the full … music is life, and like it, inextinguishable.

Conductor: Giordano Bellincampi
Violin: Natalia Lomeiko

Kodály Dances of Galánta
Shostakovich Violin Concerto No.2
Nielsen Symphony No.4 ‘The Inextinguishable’

Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra 2021 Season:

Ticket Pricing

Pricing Information

Ticketmaster is the official ticketing agent for all ticketed events at Auckland Live.

For all ticketed events in Auckland Live venues – the ticket price plus service fees and credit card charges will apply.

$52 - $131
$47 - $120
$27 - $59

Did you know?

You only need to buy four tickets to become an APO subscriber. Just take your pick of any 2021 APO concerts and you’ll save 10% off public ticket prices and no booking fees.

Upcoming Performances

$27.00 - $131.00
Great Hall, Auckland Town Hall