Past Event6 Oct 2018

Johannes Moser Plays Shostakovich

No longer available

Great Hall, Auckland Town Hall

Classical music

BORODIN Overture to Prince Igor
SHOSTAKOVICH Cello Concerto No. 1 in E flat major, Op. 107
PROKOFIEV Romeo and Juliet – Selections from the Ballet

Johannes Moser returns to the NZSO to play Shostakovich’s Cello Concerto No. 1, following his 2016 performances of the Lalo Cello Concerto. 
For conductor Peter Oundjian’s debut with the NZSO, he will guide the orchestra through this rich and varied programme featuring Russian composers.

Prokofiev’s score to Romeo and Juliet features some of the most intense music written. In this selection from the Ballet, the musical narrative clearly depicts the unseen drama and so stands by itself on the concert stage.

Moser will also be performing a series of solo recitals playing three Bach cello suites (Nos 1, 4 and 3) in Auckland, Christchurch and Wellington.


Visit for more information.

Be the first to know about live events in Auckland!