Described by its composer as a ‘grand heroic-romantic opera’, Euryanthe flopped in the theatre. Its overture, however, has always been popular, perhaps because it lets us hear the wonderful music from the opera without the burden of its preposterous plot.

Bruch’s First Violin Concerto was an instant success, a captivating blend of romance and gypsy vivacity. Benjamin Baker, a previous Michael Hill International Violin Competition finalist, returns home to New Zealand for this performance.

Webern’s loving tribute to J.S. Bach is followed by Mendelssohn’s tribute to Martin Luther, ending with the sturdy chorale A Mighty Fortress Is Our God.

Conductor: Giordano Bellincampi 
Violin: Benjamin Baker

Weber Euryanthe, Overture
Bruch, Violin Concerto No.1
J.S. Bach, (arr. Webern) The Musical Offering: Ricercar
Mendelssohn, Symphony No.5 ‘Reformation’

Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra 2021 Season:

Ticket Pricing

Pricing Information

Ticketmaster is the official ticketing agent for all ticketed events at Auckland Live.

For all ticketed events in Auckland Live venues – the ticket price plus service fees and credit card charges will apply.

$52 - $131
$47 - $120
Ages 5-16 with valid ID
$27 - $59

Did you know?

You only need to buy four tickets to become an APO subscriber. Just take your pick of any 2021 APO concerts and you’ll save 10% off public ticket prices and no booking fees.

Upcoming Performances

$27.00 - $131.00
Great Hall, Auckland Town Hall