Past Event17 Sep 2023

Schumann, Vanhal, Schubert

No longer available

Great Hall, Auckland Town Hall

Classical music

Bach Musica NZ proudly presents the New Zealand premiere of Schumann’s Requiem, op148, a 45-minute work composed in 1852 for four vocal soloists, a choir and a symphony orchestra.

The concert will open with the Bassoon Concerto in C Major, by Czech composer Johann Baptist Vanhal. His music was well respected by Mozart, Haydn, Beethoven and Schubert. 

Also included in this concert is “Unfinished” Symphony No 8 in B Minor, D 759. Sadly, Schubert never finished this work, yet this outstanding composition has risen to be one of the most popular compositions in the early romantic period. 

For more information visit 

Explore Bach Musica NZ 2023

Be the first to know about live events in Auckland!