Past Event10 Jul 2022

Serious Delights with the New Zealand Chamber Soloists

No longer available

Concert Chamber, Auckland Town Hall

Classical music

A glorious programme of delightful works with a serious undertone. The highlight will be the world premiere of a brand-new composition by Janet Jennings, ‘Persephone in the Underworld’. This is the third piece commissioned by New Zealand Chamber Soloists, celebrating New Zealand women composers as seven of them compose a seven-minute piano trio which is premiered at Auckland Town Hall. 

New Zealand Chamber Soloists:  

Katherine Austin - piano; Lara Hall - violin; James Tennant - cello 


Rebecca CLARKE Piano Trio in Eb minor 

Bright SHENG Piano Trio in 4 Movements 


Janet Jennings ‘Persephone in the Underworld’ WORLD PREMIERE 

BABAJANIAN Trio in F# minor 

The Artists 

Combining the talents of Katherine Austin (piano), Lara Hall (violin), and James Tennant (cello) the group is dedicated to presenting classical music as a spontaneous and vivid experience connecting the audience and performers through the universal language of music.  Since its inception, the New Zealand Chamber Soloists have celebrated the unique voice of New Zealand's new generation of composers, alongside the works of the classical and 20th century traditions. The group has brought a unique blend of virtuosity, colour and a full-on, spontaneous energy to music old and new. 


Accessibility: If you are attending a show or event in our venues and have an access need, find more information about accessibility here. You can also take a virtual accessibility tour of the venue.  

Be the first to know about live events in Auckland!