Past Event3 Nov 2016

Soul of the Cello

No longer available

Auckland Town Hall

Classical music


  • Karlo Margetić - New Work
  • Dvořák - Cello Concerto
  • Nielsen - Symphony No.2 ‘The Four Temperaments’

Young and dazzlingly talented, the APO’s Composer-in-Residence Karlo Margetić opens this concert with an eagerly awaited new work.

Dvořák composed his evergreen concerto when he was living in America, and it’s suffused with homesickness – the more so as his beloved sister-in-law died, back in Europe, while he was writing it. 

Only a highly original and idiosyncratic artist like Danish composer Carl Nielsen could write a symphony about universal character traits. This isn’t programme music, but Nielsen draws the personality types with uncanny clarity, from a sorrowful ‘Melancholic’ to the rumbustious ‘Phlegmatic’.

Find out more about Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra

Be the first to know about live events in Auckland!