Past Event25 Aug 2018

Stravinsky and Rachmaninov

No longer available

Great Hall, Auckland Town Hall

Classical music

STRAVINSKY Symphonies of Wind Instruments  (1947 Revised Version)
STRAVINSKY Symphony in Three Movements
RACHMANINOV Symphony No. 2, Op. 27


It’s a double helping of Igor Stravinsky, opening with his strikingly original work Symphonies of Wind Instruments. First performed in 1921, Stravinsky’s 1947 revised version became the standard and remains both elegiac and haunting.

Completed in 1945, the composer’s Symphony in Three Movements was his first major piece after immigrating to the United States. Sourcing ideas from an abandoned film music project and Stravinsky’s wartime impressions from documentaries and news reels, it is a bold and utterly captivating work.

Rachmaninov’s Second Symphony premiered to great acclaim and restored the composer’s confidence after a disastrous response to his First Symphony. Imbued with expansive melodies, rhapsodies par excellence and brilliant orchestration, this is one of Rachmaninov’s popular works and perfectly suited for the dexterity and dynamism of Edo de Waart and the NZSO.


Visit for more information.

Be the first to know about live events in Auckland!