The Civic’s gold doors open for the much-loved The Civic Tours

Auckland Live is rolling out the red carpet for the return of The Civic Tours, the much-loved walking tours of the iconic landmark that Aucklanders and visitors can’t get enough of.

Led by knowledgeable and passionate tour guides, some of whom have worked in the venue, The Civic Tours offer an immersive, insider’s look into the workings of the historic landmark, its history, shows, backstage stories, and more.

Offering exclusive access to areas usually reserved for the stars, The Civic Tours take you back to The Civic’s heyday in the 1930’s and 40’s,  when it was a glamorous picture palace and theatre, staging spectacular shows and cabarets led by live bands, showgirls, and celebrities (Artie Shaw!) during the war years.

'Definite must for theatre buffs!' - tour patron

Warm with nostalgia, The Civic Tours invite you to step inside a world of theatrical and architectural wonder, to hear the stories of the fight for The Civic when it faced the wrecker’s ball in the 1990s, and its triumphant restoration as one of the last remaining atmospheric theatres in the Southern Hemisphere.

Starting in July, The Civic Tours are being held on weekday mornings as well as returning to the very popular Saturday slots.

Each tour is an hour long, with just 16 people in each tour group ensuring intimate access to the spaces and a rare opportunity to get up-close-and-personal with Auckland’s grand old lady of theatre and musicals.

'LOVE the mighty Civic!’ - tour patron

We can’t wait to see you here!


The Civic Tours

Thu 2 Jul, 10am & 11.30am

Sat 4 Jul, 10am & 11.30am

Thu 9 Jul, 10am & 11.30am

Sat 11 Jul, 10am & 11.30am

Thu 16 Jul, 10am & 11.30am

Sat 18 Jul, 10am & 11.30am

Thu 23 Jul, 10am & 11.30am

Sat 25 Jul, 10am & 11.30am

Thu 30 Jul, 10am & 11.30am

Sat 1 Aug, 10am & 11.30am

Thu 6 Aug, 10am & 11.30am

Sat 8 Aug, 10am & 11.30am

Thu 13 Aug, 10am & 11.30am

Sat 15 Aug, 10am & 11.30am

 

Ticket prices:

  • Tickets are $44 each plus booking fees, which includes a post-tour complimentary beverage (barista made coffee, cup of tea or cold drink) at The Civic’s Stark’s Café and Bar.
  • Purchase tickets here